New Orleans Iced Coffee

This past thursday was our FOURTH wedding anniversary! Drew surprised me with the perfect and most “me” flowers ever, we tried a fantastic little restaurant on Magnolia Street here in Fort Worth, and then sat at a perfect little independent coffee shop for hours and talked.

And while we were there, Drew sipped on espresso and I had the barista recommended New Orleans style iced coffee. He told me what was in it, and after trying it, I knew I had to make my own.

Here’s how you do it:

1. You need to make simple syrup. You can buy this, but really, why would you? Mix equal parts water and sugar, and boil until the mixture becomes clear. I did about a half cup of each and it has made enough syrup for around 6-8 iced coffees. The syrup can be stored in a closed container in the fridge for around 1-2 weeks.

2. You guessed it: make coffee. I highly recommend making it in a french press, but then I always highly recommend making coffee in a french press. Without a filter, the oils from the coffee are allowed to mix with what you end up drinking, and it creates a much smoother, richer brew. But either way, make the coffee and allow to cool to room temperature (or help it along in the refrigerator).

3. Get out whatever sized glass you prefer and fill about 3/4 with ice.

4. Depending on how much coffee flavor you like you can either mix:

1/2 coffee, 1/2 milk, and a few tablespoons to taste of the simple syrup

OR, my favorite

3/4 coffee, 1/4 half and half with a few tablespoons to taste of the simple syrup

5. Mix it up, put a straw in it (because it taste better with a straw, obviously), and be thankful you’re inside in the air conditioning. And if you live in a climate where you can get away with no air conditioning (Southern Californians, you know who you are), then go outside and enjoy it for crying outloud!

3 thoughts on “New Orleans Iced Coffee

  1. Adrienne,

    I just started roasting my own coffee at home, and let me tell you it is some good, fresh coffee. But if you like ice coffee, Starbucks new Ice Coffee Blend is perfect for ice coffee. It is much stronger than their other brews and is made specifically for icing. This means that after you brew it you can put it in a pitcher with ice and it cools much faster than waiting for it to cool on its own. You should check it out.

    Cliff

  2. I didn’t know Starbucks had an iced coffee brew! I’ll have to check it out! I knew they had those little packets for instant iced and that stuff is pretty good. I HAVE had the iced coffee w/ milk and a shot of vanilla and it’s darn good too….BUT this is much better and you might like it. Somehow it’s creamier and less sweet.

Leave a Reply

