When in Berlin, Do as Berliners Do and Go to the Flohmarkt

This weekend was spent in Berlin. While we saw a fair amount of things in two days’ time, it was the several hours spent at the Fleamarket Arkonaplatz that took the cake. You see, I don’t mind seeing tourist things, but my favorite thing to do when visiting a place is to try and get a real feel for it. I’d researched several flea markets beforehand and this one seemed full of potential as it often specializes in the 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s. Once there, as I weaved in and out of Berliners, and navigated the many vendors, I never heard anything but German.  I smiled knowing that this was indeed, a very local place to go. Little did I know, however, how big I’d be smiling when I walked away with two purchases.

I fell in love with this retro red alarm clock as soon as I saw it. The decision to purchase was made as soon as I realized that it had been made in the former German Democratic Republic (East Germany). The history buff in me simply couldn’t refuse.

And now you know I’m a history buff (if you didn’t already), you’ll know how ecstatic I was when I found these German paper bills dating around 1920! If you look at the one on the bottom, you’ll see the date is April 1918: before WWI had officially ended with the Treaty of Versailles.

Ok, enough with the history lesson. At first I wasn’t sure what I’d do with them, but at only a few euros, I couldn’t refuse. Currently I’m toying with the idea of either putting them in a type of floating frame or using them to make a set of coasters. I’m leaning towards the latter.

So should you ever find yourself in Berlin on a lovely Sunday morning, visit the Flohmarkt Arkonaplatz for some lovely treasure hunting and then top it off with a late breakfast at one of the nearby cafes.

One thought on “When in Berlin, Do as Berliners Do and Go to the Flohmarkt

Leave a Reply

