Natural Moisture

I love summer and I love travel, but even one of those things is enough to make my entire body feel dehydrated. Besides making an effort to up my water intake (not easy, believe me as I don’t like it), these products have been life savers.

Dr. Hauschka’s Lip Care Stick is probably the best lip balm I’ve ever used. Of course, it should be for 7 euros/$14. Completely natural and organic it moisturizes while giving my lips just enough shine to look finished but natural.

A close second is Burt’s Bees Honey Lip Balm, which at around $3, is much more affordable. Also 100% natural, I can actually pronounce all the ingredients and it works really well. The only possible downside is that it smells strongly of honey, something I think you either love or hate. I, obviously love it and could live with exclusively honey and/or milk and honey flavored/scented products.

Another favorite is organic coconut oil. I found a giant tub for around $10 at Sprout’s (if the picture doesn’t look like a giant tub, that’s because I scooped some into a recycled Lush container for travel), but my sister found some even cheaper in the hair section at Wal-Mart. This stuff is great for everything! It stays solid at room temperature, but as soon as it comes into contact with your skin it melts into an oil.

As a moisturizer: I rub it into my skin after showers. It leaves you soft all day and lightly scented with coconut. Give it a few minutes to soak in though, since it is an oil.

As a hair conditioner: About once a week or so I slather the oil all over my hair and wrap up in a towel for a few hours before washing the oil out of my hair. If you have really long and/or thick hair (like me), you may need to lather, rinse, and repeat to remove all the oil.

As a hair oil: While my hair is still wet, I use about a dime-sized amount and massage it into the ends of my hair.

As a lip balm: Put it on your

 lips, silly! Or I sometimes mix it with blush for a little bit of color and shine.

As a neosporin-type product: Coconut oil has anti-bacterial/anti-microbial properties and if I don’t have Neosporin (like on vacation), it’s great to smooth onto small cuts or scratches as it promotes healing.

As a food: You can cook with coconut oil like any other oil, but the way I use it is to put a tablespoon into my oatmeal as a sort of healthy-fat supplement. You can’t taste it, but it keeps you full longer and gives you a dose of medium-chain fatty acids which boost energy and metabolize much faster than “regular saturated fats.”

Best of all, it’s completely natural, so no chemicals being absorbed through my skin and hair!

One final product recommendation (not pictured) is jojoba oil. I bought a bottle big enough to last me several months for $10 at Sprout’s (same at health food stores) and use it as a facial moisturizer. Jojoba oil is the closest thing to the sebum (oil) our faces produce, so using it tricks your skin into thinking it is making plenty of oil thereby decreasing your oil production. Since I’ve started using it, my skin is less oily, less acne-ish, and less dry. Overall, it has taken my skin from a oily/dry/combination nightmare to pretty normal.

So there you have it. What are you favorite natural products or products for summer?

3 thoughts on “Natural Moisture

  1. Adrienne, I love that you shared some of your faves. We have a Sprouts nearby and I’d love to try the coconut oil! Hope y’all are doing well!

  2. I’m always interested in hearing what products people use so this was a great post for me. I think I’m going to try the coconut oil and the jojoba. I never had acne until my early 20s (yay me!) and now I’m trying to figure out what works best for my skin. Thanks for the suggestions! =)

Leave a Reply

