Day 10: Poppin’ Collars

I have traditionally abhorred the idea of a popped collar. Something about it tends to scream, well…Garfunkel & Oates have a song about it. View it here.  There’s a bit of choice language, but you get the idea. Seeing as I am not a college frat boy or from Jersey, I think a slightly popped collar is alright. It’s more of an Audrey Hepburn vibe than anything and I love how she would wear popped collars and slim black pants. So classy, chic, and iconic. 

So what have we learned here? Popped collars are good if imitating Audrey Hepburn, but they confuse 4th graders into thinking you don’t know how to dress yourself.

2 thoughts on “Day 10: Poppin’ Collars

  1. It’s funny you talk about the different types of popped collars. Where I grew up in the South, a popped collar was very Lily Pulitzer/Jackie Kennedy – stylish and preppy. Then I went to college, and it somehow became Jersey Shore. I keep wanting to embrace it, but I’ve been too chicken – but it looks so cute on you that it might give me the nerve to get back to my roots!

Leave a Reply

