Day 4: Marie Antoinette

I bet you thought my outfit was inspired by the most famous queen of all time. It’s not, but I did lounge around today watching Sofia Coppola’s version. I love it. I love Kirsten Dunst, the fashion, all the food, and the colors. I particularly think it’s ingenious how she uses 80’s music and colors to draw a sort of parallel between the excess of both times.

In outfit news, I was excited that I was able to roll up this navy sweater, add a belt and make it looks like a top and skirt, rather than a sweater over a dress.  In hindsight, I’m not a fan of the boots with this. My brown pumps would have been much cuter, but I was going for comfort (and safety) walking around on slush today.

This 30 for 30 thing isn’t quite as easy as it might appear. One has to get creative, which is the point.

I’m enjoying the challenge.

Outfit:

Sweater: AE

Dress/Tights: Target

Boots: Journeys

Belt: Anthro

Jacket: Express

2 thoughts on “Day 4: Marie Antoinette

  1. Never would have guessed that was a dress! Super smart how you used the belt to “disguise” the dress’s waistline. I’ve seen lots of dresses with sweaters belted on top, and this is one of my favs.

  2. I can’t believe that’s a dress. Awesome use of your pieces – if you’re this creative at the beginning you’ll be able to sail through the last couple days with a few simple outfits. It’s not a bad game plan really….

Leave a Reply

