Sometimes You Just Gotta Chalk It Up

I am so glad that classrooms don’t have chalkboards anymore. They are awfully messy and I don’t like chalk all over my hands all day.

However, I am in love with chalkboards in my home.  If I could get away with it I would paint an entire wall or door with chalkboard paint.  But since we live in an apartment and would have to paint it back in who knows how long, I’d rather not.

So you can imagine my delight in discovering chalkboard contact paper.  It is inexpensive, easy to apply and even easier to remove whenever we’d like.  After just a few weeks with it in our kitchen I love using it for Christmas countdown and grocery lists, while Drew loves it for our German word of the day.

Someday I plan on getting the chalkboard paint for whole areas in the kitchen, but until then…this will do nicely.

P.S. Is detergant spelled correctly? After an entire day teaching, I don’t even know anymore.

7 thoughts on “Sometimes You Just Gotta Chalk It Up

  1. ::Gasp!:: Must. Get. Chalkboard. Contact paper!
    There’s a show my niece watches on the Disney channel and the family has an entire door on their refrigerator painted with chalkboard paint to keep track of their five kids.

      • It’s called “Good Luck, Charlie”. The premise is that the oldest daughter (who’s 16 or so) is creating a video blog for her younger sister that was just born (that’s Charlie) and explaining what he family is like. It’s cute. Reminds me of the stuff that used to be on TGIF.

  2. Awesome! I love the look of chalkboards but hate the commitment of paint. We tried to use it as a backsplash in our kitchen but after two years it got the boot. Too much grease (ugh, the cleaning) and we never really wrote on it. Maybe if we had one located closer to the back door or by the telephone it would get more use.

Leave a Reply

