Christmas Comes But Once A Year (And Early In Our House)

We may or may not be notorious for giving Christmas gifts early.  Like you know how some people put up their tree the day after Thanksgiving? We’ve given gifts on that day. I know, I know, but when you’ve got a gift burning a hole in your…floor…you really want to give it. We do.

 

 So this year when Drew told me my gift shipped on Thursday and that it’d be 5-10 days and that he was probably going to wait longer to give me my present; I was a little bummed. Just because it’s kind of our silly tradition to gift early.

However, after doing some shopping on Saturday we returned to discover we had a package. A package in the now closed office. The next day I might have made Drew go straight to get it as soon as the office opened.  Ten minutes later, I had a gift under the tree, wrapped in red plaid paper.  I didn’t understand though. Why wasn’t he giving it to me now? (because he is a silly boy and wanted to make me wait at least five minutes) Anyway, we sat down at the table, ate lunch, cleared the dishes and then…I was handed a red plaid box and asked if I wanted my Christmas present.

Did I want to open m…yes.  So I did.

As soon as I saw the royal blue tissue paper and gold box I knew exactly what it was: a mezuzah.

A mezuzah is a piece of the Torah, hand written on parchment in Hebrew, by a rabbi.  It is then rolled up and placed inside a mezuzah cover that is attached to the right side of your doorpost.  They are traditionally only done in Jewish homes, but since Christianity came out of Judaism and I’ve always been fascinated with it, I wanted one.  The “purpose” of having a mezuzah is to serve as a visual reminder of God’s commandments; and to live accordingly. The scroll itself contains Deuteronomy 6:4-9 and 11:13-21, also known as “Shema Yisroel” and “Vehaya.”

“Hear, O Israel: the Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.  These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts.  Impress them on your children.  Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.”

Outside our door.

 I don’t know what my fascination with Judaism is: perhaps it is all those Anne Frank books I read in elementary school, but I suspect it is their tradition and culture.  Not that it’s necessary or anything, but Protestants could use a bit more tradition if you ask me, and I always wondered why Christians didn’t celebrate Jewish holidays too.  You know, since the first Christians were Jews…as…was…Jesus.  So no one be surprised if we end up attending a Messianic Synagogue is all I’m saying.

Until then, I have my mezuzah and plans to celebrate Passover this year.

Leave a Reply

