Double Agent

Start your story with: He’s my husband, but he’s also a double agent.

He’s my husband, but he’s also a double agent. We’d been married only a few weeks when a package arrived in the mail.  At first, I’d assumed it to be a late wedding present, but reality said otherwise when my eyes moved across the return address: U.S.S.A.

“Who’s that from?” He asked walking into the living room and seeing me, the package, and a letter opener.

“I—I’m not really sure. It says U. S. S. A.” I replied, drawing out each letter individually.

“Let me see that.”

“Do you know who it’s from?”

“Oh, it’s just my crazy Uncle Ussa.” He laughed, carefully opening each end and pulling out the letter inside.

Ussa. He’d pronounced it Ussa. But, anyone who could read would have said each letter by itself, not make it into a –

I needed to see that letter and I needed to see it immediately. Something was off. I reached for it. “Let me see what this crazy old uncle sent us!” I laughed, feigning excitement.

His eyes never left the letter as he unfolded it and began to read silently, turning his body from me in one big, nonverbal “no.”

Walking around to his front, I could see that enclosed with the letter was a rather large photograph. Grabbing onto his shoulder and standing on my toes I was able to get a quick glance at it.

It was a picture of him. My husband.  And by the look on his face, he wasn’t expecting a picture of himself. For a late wedding present or for any other reason.

That was it. Enough of this playing like I didn’t know what was going on.

“You said Ussa.”

“What?”

“When you saw who it was from. You said Ussa.”

“Yeah, because it’s from my—“

“No. You and I both know that there’s only a select group of people that would see U.S.S.A. and pronounce it Ussa.

“What exactly are you saying?”

“I’m saying that you and I both belong to this select group of people. Now, I don’t know if that package was really for you, but I’m betting, by your many confused looks while reading the letter, that it’s actually for me.” I said, holding out my hand, gesturing for him to turn it over.

Stunned, he slowly handed the letter and photograph over to me. “You? You belong to Ussa?”

“For the last three years, actually.” I told him as I scanned the contents of the page in my hand. I understood now.

“How could I have missed that we’re both in Ussa?” He said, running a hand through his hair.

I shrugged. Hey, I’d missed it too.

“Well, it seems we’re more than just “both in Ussa” now.” I smiled, holding out my hand. “It seems I’ve been assigned to be your new partner.”

He grabbed it, pulling me towards him until our lips were only inches apart.

“Well, nice to meet you, Partner.”

Leave a Reply

